Board of Directors

The Cabarrus Arts Council serves the entire county and carefully selects its board members to provide community-wide representation. Directors are nominated by a committee that includes board and non-board members who consider a matrix of priorities including municipalities, race, gender, arts expertise, professional expertise and many other factors. Every director fills a specific need on the board in order to build an effective team.

The arts council board is a working board. Every director attends monthly board meetings and is active on at least one committee. 100% of board members donate to the council and raise funds for it. The arts council board of directors works closely with the President and CEO and actively promotes the arts throughout Cabarrus County.

Cabarrus Arts Council - 2017-2018 Board of Directors

  • Board of Directors

    Keith Gehl, Chair
    Retired Senior Vice President
    Family Dollar

    John Crump, Vice Chair

    Dave Davis, Treasurer
    Wealth Management
    Wells Fargo

    Chantel Balknight-Thompson, Secretary
    Deputy Director of Human Resources
    City of Concord

    Donald Anthony
    Pastor, Community Leader
    Grace Lutheran Church

    Ruth Brooks
    Founder and Director
    Multicultural Student Union

    Angie Brown
    General Manager
    Great Wolf Lodge

    Jessica Castrodale
    Community Outreach Coordinator
    Atrium Health

    Karen Cobb
    Public Relations Manager (Retired)
    Lowe’s Home Improvement

    Emily Croom
    Civic Leader

    Diane Honeycutt
    Realtor, Team Honeycutt
    Allen Tate Realtors

    Jane Jacobs
    Civic Leader

    Nancy Hilliard Joyce
    Artist, Curator, Art Consultant

    Kevin Killough
    Civic Leader

    Tiffany Lassiter
    Civic Leader

    Betsy Liles
    Personal Chef
    Dinner Bell

    Lori Nash
    Financial Services Specialist
    Town of Harrisburg

    Perla B. Nunes
    Clinical Trials Project Leader
    Duke Transitional Institute

    Garrett Price
    Carolina Portrait Designs

    Mary Beth Roth
    Director of Middle Schools
    Cabarrus County Schools

    Betsy Hamilton Smith
    Elizabeth Interiors

    Steve Steinbacher
    Cabarrus Brewing Company

    Jennie Martin Tomlin
    Visual Artist

    Keith Whaley
    Insurance Agent
    State Farm Insurance

  • Ex Officio

    Chip Buckwell
    Kannapolis City Schools

    Mike Downs
    County Manager
    Cabarrus County

    Bill Dusch

    Del Eudy
    Mount Pleasant

    Mike Legg
    City Manager

    Chris Lowder
    Cabarrus County Schools

    Steve Sciascia

Corporate Sponsors

  • Atrium Health
  • Embassy Suites
  • Duke Energy
  • Great Wolf Lodge
  • Hilton Garden Inn
  • Independent Tribune
  • Technologies Edge
  • Wells Fargo